top of page

NY State Adds 4th Classification to Boys Lacrosse Starting in 2017

Starting with the 2017 season, there will be four playoff divisions in high school boys and girls lacrosse. The 22-member executive committee of the New York State Public High School Athletic Association approved the proposal this morning in a teleconference vote.

It's a move that could have occurred several years ago, area lacrosse officials said, but the state was reluctant to add championships during the recent budget crunch.

"We've had enough teams to do it," said Rob Goss, the Lowville athletics director who chairs Section III lacrosse. "Who wouldn't want a fourth sectional champion and possibly a fourth state champion?"

What remains to be seen is how the state divides the numbers for lacrosse, which has had three divisions, A, B and C, for years and now will add Class D. Most team sports in New York compete in five classes.

The basic enrollment (beds) numbers for the divisions are:

Class AA (910 and above);

Class A (480-908);

Class B (280-479);

Class C (170-279;

Class D (169 and under).

Some sports, such as football, have different numbers. One sport that uses four classifications is cross country. Those numbers are:

Class A (911 and above);

Class B (470-910);

Class C (260-469);

Class D (259 and below).

"That's something the state committee will have to take care of," Goss said.

The lacrosse classifications for 2017 are scheduled to be worked out by the state lacrosse committee and will be voted on by the executive committee in May.

Locally, adding a fourth class would appear to favor many of the smaller schools in the area, such as LaFayette and Tully and Bishop Ludden, which field competitive teams but must compete in a large pool of C schools under the current setup.

Original posting at

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page